Reflection- Make it important

Reflection- Make it important

We are all different, we come from extremely vast backgrounds and we have been exposed to different environments. With that in mind, there are some important changes in our journeys that I believe will work for most people. One of those things is, ‘Reflecting’.

When people hear the word reflection, the first thing they think about is a Journal or Diary, where you have to write about your secrets and the people you hate. Trust me, I was one of those people, because that’s is the first thing I thought I was going to do when I started reading the chapter of ‘The Law of Reflection’ in John Maxwell’s book, The 15 Invaluable laws of growth. To my surprise it was really different, it was as if that Chapter was tailored for me. I acknowledge that some points you might not agree with, but those same points could be relevant for 100 other people.

Reflection is simply allowing the growth you are experiencing to catch up with where you are in life. This sounds confusing, but once explored you’ll realise that you have been doing it in some or other way, but you were maybe just not aware of it. Like I highlighted that Reflection is simply allowing the growth you are experiencing to catch up with where you are in life. 

“When we reflect, what we reflect upon changes into insight.” 

I asked one of my friends, “How will you know that this year is going to be a good year? How will you know if you have grown from 2016 to 2017? How can you be assured that the same mistakes you did 2016, you won’t, by chance, repeat them this year?” I didn’t ask these questions because I wanted to get my friend thinking, I asked these questions because I personally wanted to make sure that I don’t see, “2016 Reloaded”, where I just go around in circles without realising that I am getting better in something. The key to my questions, came weeks later, the Key was to reflect. The spectrum of reflecting was not only limited to my emotions, but also reflecting on on events, time usage, vocabulary and how I spoke to people, financial management, how I managed my relationships, how I approached Leadership and whether or not my relationship with the Father was deepening.

This really sounds like an easy thing to do, but I didn’t make it a priority hence I missed out on an opportunity to grow personally in the past few years. 

“When we don’t reflect on experiences, it becomes like receiving a test and never learning the lesson.”

 At this point you can just stop, because that’s the most important thing about reflection, “Learning the Lesson.” I believe that reflection should be more valuable than motivation and encouragement. 

“Reflection makes our lives better, because we get to understand the significance of events and we can be better prepared should they happen again.” 

The thing I find cool about reflection is that it allows you to teach others from the wisdom that you might have gained from your experience, because your thinking expands when you pause with intention. Sometimes we need to let a minute thought be an hour of talk. 

“When you are able to create a lonely place in the middle of your actions and concerns, your successes and failures can slowly lose the power over you.”-Henri Nouwen.

 “At the end of each day, you should be able to play back the tapes of your performance. The results should either applaud you or prod you”-Jim Rohn. 

“Successful people ask better questions, and as a result, get better answers.”-Anthony Robbins.

I love how some quotes just give context to certain topics.

AThe main question would now be, “But then how can I reflect as an individual?” John Maxwell answers this question in the best way. He talks about using the “4 I”. Something stood out for me, “If someone is going down the wrong road, he doesn’t need motivation to speed up. He needs to stop.” If you are one of those people the following can apply for you.

1. Investigate.

This is the first step, ask the hard questions. This is something I dealt with in the first article on GROWTH  I had to ask myself those uncomfortable questions about my future. “What kind of life do you want?” “Is your way of life supporting the desire you have?” “Is the company you keep drawing you close to your future?” “Are you reading books on topics of your strengths?” These are some of the questions I asked myself because I needed to know where I am currently.

 Galileo said, “All truths are easy to understand once they are discovered. The point is to discover them. That takes investigation.”

2. Incubate.

Is more like meditation. It’s the part where you really think about the questions you have asked yourself and allowing those questions to bother your mind. When you incubate, you are reloading your ammo to tackle the questions you have. When I started incubating, I started remembering and thinking about stories, quotes, books, topics of talk, etc. Stuff like, “You are the average of five people you are always with.” “If you don’t create the future you want, you must endure the future you get.” “My people perish for a lack of knowledge” “Impossible is in the dictionary of fools” These are some of the quotes that gave me direction.

3. Illuminate.

“Aha”. This is the primary reaction of illuminating. It is when you realise how something gave you poor results even though you had a high investment on them. 

“At the end of each day, you should play back the tapes of your performance. The results should either applaud you or prod you.”-Jim Rohn. 

This is where we get to realise where we really went wrong and what the plan might be to improve how and where we went wrong.

4. Illustrate.

This is the action part. The part where you realise what went wrong and then making it a mission to act on improving on what went wrong. A business plan on paper will never turn into a business unless someone implements that idea. Success is the fruit of action. 

“No plan is worth the paper it is printed on unless it starts you doing something.”-William Danforth

In summary these are the 4 Pillars of reflection for me. Just remember that when you reflect, what you reflect upon changes into insight and “When we don’t reflect on experiences, it becomes like receiving a test and never learning the lesson.” Please don’t forget to leave your comments and Questions below. 

Author: Leonard Lebere

Leonard is: Introverted. Love Reading. Value Friendships. Kingdom Builder. Natural Leader. Exude Confidence. Writes Differently

Leave a Reply

